Regulamin Nagrody Mariana Smoluchowskiego - Emila Warburga

  1. The terms of the award should be "to be presented for outstanding contributions to pure or applied physics". The award is to be made to physicists alternately every two years whose centre of living and work is in Germany or Poland. 
  2. The selection of the prize-winner is as follows: Not later than six months before the date of presentation the Council of the nominating Society submits two or three (but not more) names, plus citations, to the Council of the other, selecting and hosting Society, which makes the final choice. The nominations are not to be restricted to members of either Society although candidates must be persons living and working in the country of the nominating Society. 
  3. The presentation of the award will normally take place alternately (a) at the annual spring meeting of the DPG to the prize-winner from Poland and (b) at the general meeting of the PTF to the prize-winner from Germany. 
  4. The medal is of silver and about 6 cm in diameter and 0,5 cm thick. It carries profiles, names and dates of Marian Smoluchowski and Emil Warburg and the full names of the PTF and the DPG. The recipient's full name and the year of the award are engraved around the rim. The medal and its costs are the responsibility of the DPG. 
  5. The certificate is about 30 x 25 cm2 societies. It has to be written in the language of the nominating Society (Polish or German) and is the responsibility of the PTF. The reverse side of the certificate can include the wording in the language of the selecting society. 
  6. The prize money is to be given by the Meyer-Viol Foundation. 
  7. The nominating society is responsible for travel and lodging of its prize-winner and spouse plus its representative(s) who participate in the ceremony of the host Society. 
  8. Each Society has the right to terminate the common prize by the end of the year following its announcement.