The Congress of Polish Physicists in Poznan started on 9 September 2013 (Monday). State awards, awarded by the Polish President, for contribution to the Society and PPS awards for 2013 were presented during the opening ceremony. Dr Krystyna Żakowicz received the Bronze Cross of Merit for her long-time commitment to the PPS Main Board Office where she worked as an office manager. Marian Smoluchowski Medal for outstanding scientific achievements was granted to prof. Jan Misiewicz (Wrocław University of Technology) and Douglas Cline (Rochester University). There was also a meeting of the presidents and representatives of physicists societies from Belarus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Japan, Lithuania, Germany, Taiwan, Slovakia, Ukraine, the USA, Hungary and Italy. Lectures and sessions will last until Friday. 

For conference details go to